Is Everyone Hanging out without me? And other concerns Mindy Kaling

‘Sometime you just have to put on lip gloss and pretend that your psyched.’

I’ve read this book twice over a one month period because I fell in love with how funny it is in an unassuming type of way.  Mindy recounting her childhood and her life in New york is Hilarious to the point that I receive several funny looks from people when I LOL from reading it on the bus.

is everyone hanging

‘one friend with whom you have a lot in common is better than three with whom you struggle to find things to talk about.

I enjoyed this book more than I anticipated I would. Mindy Kaling talks about her childhood, growing up as an overweight child and her work first in New York in the Theaters, and as a Nanny then landing that gig on The Office. The whole book is a series of Hilarious essays and Musings and read sort of like a journal (if everyone should write so funny).  If the hilariously titled chapters are anything to go by then you will not be misled about this book. The sincerity of the work also is something to look forward to. The prose is light but the underlying  message is clear from bullying to pushing  for your dreams and realizing when you’ve reached ‘there”.

‘I feel it (revenge) is best served piping hot. straight out of the oven of outrage’

lol. this sounds rather violent but I promise you, in context it is quite funny.

THE FASHION POLICE SLAUGHTER ME, CONSTANTLY, AND I DON’T CARE

English: Actress Mindy Kaling at the premiere ...

English: Actress Mindy Kaling at the premiere party of TV series Parks and Recreation (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

That’s actually the title of a chapter along with others; ‘MY STANDS-INS GETS PLASTIC SURGERY TO LOOK MORE LIKE ME, I HAVE TO HAVE A PSEUDONYM and I CAN NEVER GO TO JAIL. This is a great book to give to a Teenage girl (there’s actually a question and answer section about that in the book), well, minus the little areas of profanity. Mindy through her childhood experience demonstrates without preaching that its ok to not be a skinny chick and still be awesome. Its ok too to hate their guts without comparing yourself and damaging your self-esteem beyond repair.  Also it has the ‘go to college’  and ‘stick to it’ sorta feel to it without half the pressure of Chicken soup.

This is the most fun I’ve had reading any book in a long time.  I have never seen any episodes of The Office or The Mindy project. Will this makes me want to watch them, probably not but I did Google Mindy and read her blog.  She is Hilarious and very practical there also.

RATINGS: 9.5/10

About The Roving Reader ShenekaRushell

I'm that person who read with a flashlight when the light goes out at 2 in the morning when I'm reading a book that I absolutely cannot put down. I arrive at the destination long before I ever leave the plane.
This entry was posted in REVIEWS and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is Everyone Hanging out without me? And other concerns Mindy Kaling

  1. I totally agree with out. The book is hilarious and practical, and I think it’s a great read for any young woman. If you liked it, you should definitely check out her show though, it’s great.
    I recently wrote about my thoughts on the book as well, if you’d like to check it out here: http://psychologicalslant.wordpress.com/2013/12/30/i-am-not-overweight-i-fluctuate-between-chubby-and-curvy/

Leave a Reply

