Are we what we Read?

Be careful about reading health books. You may die of a misprint.
mark twain

I was out sick for about a week with Infection of the throat and a variety of other ailments. Before I made it to the doctor, I had this moment of genius (in hindsight I changed that to stupidity) to ‘google’ the symptoms and read what might be afflicting me. I mean, saving myself a trip to the doctor and the cost would be nice no? That was the worst thing I ever did in my life. Needless to say after that search and informaton overload, I ended up visiting my doctor , convinced him that I needed to test for half the stuff on the blood test sheet as well as an ultra sound. Moral of the story; not everything is worth reading.

But..

Those stuff that are worth reading sure is something. They inspire the greats to discover themselves and to become something even greater than the master. Take for example Dante Aligheiri’s Divine Comedy. It inspired many similar great works. If you should visit the sistine Chapel and take a look at Michealangelo’s, The last judgement, you will see a clear depiction of Dante’s Inferno, not the the Bible. Michelangelo borrowed various scenes of Dante’s decension into hell and depicts, with the use of Minos and Charon, fictional figures from the poem. The great Karl Marx  in the first edition of  Das Kapital uses Dante’s verse ‘follow your own road, and let the people talk as a personal motto.  More recently in pop culture, author Dan Brown also channels an aspect of the famous Divine Comedy with his appropriately titled ‘Inferno’. But, I digres, this is not a post about Dante or his influences though how numerous they may be.

William Shakepeare, was just an average lad who loved to read yet he was able to become one of the greatest writer to ever live.

A reading man and woman is a ready man and woman, but a writing man and woman is exact.
Marcus Garvey

Reading is directly related to communication. I am sure everyone is related to that one person who they wish would say more or who they wish could express succintly what is it they wish to say. Have you ever given them a book to read, fiction or non-fiction?

If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all.
Oscar Wilde

No matter how many times I read them I discover something new. every single time.

A truly good book teaches me better than to read it. I must soon lay it down, and commence living on its hint. What I began by reading, I must finish by acting. 

Henry David Thoreau

Have you ever read, a book, an article, a tweet anything and immediately feel as if you can take on any task. Youre reading a book about the starving citizens of Panem and you get this tremendoues feeling of gratitude and is inclined drop a dollar in the blind man bucket as you pass by. Words are able to literally remove you from the present, launch you to where the action is. Just a stanza is able to launch ships, move a nation, convince me that I am hungry when I just ate.

You don’t have to burn books to destroy a culture. Just get people to stop reading them.
Ray Bradbury

The real question is, with all the development in technology and the information age, where everything is accessible with the touch of the fingertips, how do we develop a system which caters to the human mind. which stimulates awareness and generates passion for learning and knowledge. There is no doubt in my mind that words are the most powerful weapon there is What kind of reader are you?

About The Roving Reader ShenekaRushell

I'm that person who read with a flashlight when the light goes out at 2 in the morning when I'm reading a book that I absolutely cannot put down. I arrive at the destination long before I ever leave the plane.
This entry was posted in Literature, MUSINGS, NaBloPoMo 2013, Quotes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Are we what we Read?

  1. Books are no substitute for expert knowledge. And until we can programme intelligence, the Internet won’t be either.

Leave a Reply

