Those not- so-self help and Inspirational Books

I have been trying to finish Robert Kiyosaki’s Rich Dad, Poor Dad ever since I started my undergraduate degree and I’m yet to get pass that pesky chapter 3. I got to the point where he was explaining how rich people acquire assets as against the poor acquiring Liabilities, such as cars and mortgages. I felt depressed.

rich dad liabilities

Then he tried to break it down for me in a pyramid of sort where he shows Liabilities as against assets. I became even more depressed.  I was depressed because instead of making me feel better and telling me how I can start to acquire my wealth, Mr Kiyosaki was highlighting my faults and was pretty much telling me I’m already screwed.

rich dad head hurt

So, I stopped reading. Now, I’m not saying that the book is not effective or that it does not work for other people but it was just not working out for me. Maybe I did not give it a fair chance to work for me and maybe that’s why I’m still poor .

 

WHAT I WOULD LIKE

Yes, I’m poor, yes I lack motivation, I know all of stuff already. What I am trying to do is to fix that. The point of Self-help to tell me how to improve on what I already know to be is a pretty bad situation. I would like for you to jump in right away and tell me to fix it. Give me examples, give me success stories. Motivate me.

 

WHAT I LOVE

iyanla and oprah

 

Now, for inspiration; I love Oprah, I love Victoria Osteen, I love Iyanla and no, not because they are all women, but because they break things down and make you feel as if they are talking to you personally. Yesterday I was reading something from Victoria’s blog and I felt as if she was in my cubicle giving me a one on one session, this was what she said;

 osteen

 

“you cant control what other people do; you can only control yourself. If you focus on the actions of others and allow them to constantly upset you, then you are handing your peace over to them and giving away your power.”

 

Now, did that not make you feel a whole lot better after reading it? Or the very least thought about letting go of something. Well I can tell you, It worked for me. At that time in the day I was pretty much ready to give my boss a piece of my mind, but because of Victorias wise words, I enhance my calm and allow that peace to wash over me.

AND ALSO…

…It so happen that Ms Vanzant and I shares the same Birthday, yes I know, some brilliant people were born that day. Thank you. I love her because she is not just preaching to the choir, she has lived through most if not everything she speaks about  and understand what it feels like to be in a place of hopelessness. For you, here are some more words of inspiration that works.

 iyanla

I have learned the hard way to mind my business, without judging who people are and what they do. I am more troubled by the lack of space being provided for the truth to unfold. Humans cannot seem to wait for or honor the truth. Instead, we make it up based on who we believe people should or should not be.

 

You know that you’ve healed an issue when you can talk about it and you’re not weeping, when you can speak to it and identify the lesson. You know that you’ve healed an issue when, having gone through that, has a benefit that you live today.

Be Inspired Today.

About The Roving Reader ShenekaRushell

I'm that person who read with a flashlight when the light goes out at 2 in the morning when I'm reading a book that I absolutely cannot put down. I arrive at the destination long before I ever leave the plane.
This entry was posted in MUSINGS, NaBloPoMo 2013, Quotes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Those not- so-self help and Inspirational Books

  1. Pingback: Just do it. | SoshiTech

  2. Pingback: Rich Dad, Poor Dad – Robert T. Kiyosak | World Wide Money Making 4 U

Leave a Reply

