RE-READABLES

black-kindle-sharing

You know, Those books that ever so often you just have to reach for and blow off the dust. God forbid that a cousin, sister, aunty or some relation took it and it’s not available when that re-reading feeling strikes :((((  these books have a special place in my heart and shall forever remain that way. They take me  to a place where nothing else matters and nothing else in life could ever do it for me like they do. If you havent read any from my list below, boy are you missing out..

SONG OF ICE AND FIRE – George RR Martin

images

Mostly because by the time I finish reading book five i cant remember half of what I read in book 3 or 2 or 1 or even 4. Re-reading is  a sure way to get familiar with it especially since HBO insist on leaving out some of the good stuff. I become so obsessed about living in Winterfell, King’s Landing, Pentos or even visiting the wall at least once before I die. Bucket list anyone?!!!

PRIDE AND PREJUDICEJane Austen

pride and prejudice

A good love story never get old. Who can forget MR Darcy, oh Mr Darcy with his wit and pomp and upturned nose and how he fell in love with the beautiful Elizabeth only to be turned down for being far too ‘full of himself’, too prideful.  while  Jane, Elizabeth sister who fell hopelessly in love with Binghley is denied her happiness because of the prejudices of said society. This book will forever be relevant as long as that thinly veiled thing called classicism exists.

ANIMAL FARMGeorge Orwell

animal_farm_book_cover_v2b_by_astrocrush

‘All animals are equal but some are more equal than others’  I find with age and maturity come a new respect and understanding for certain books that I read in my youth. Orwell book about animals living on a farm and chasing away the owner meant little to me read with my child eyes. It was not until I knew what an Allegory was that I began to understand that not everything should be taken at face value.

WUTHERING HEIGHTS Emily Bronte

wuthering heights two

Heathcliff with his dark love and Catherine with her golden hair and angelic face. A love that surpasses death, the grave. The most quotable book I have ever read.

THE NOTEBOOK- Nicholas Sparks

the-notebook

Sometimes I’m up for a good cry. yes, I can see how depressing that is but honestly if i’m already sad i’ll read this book, be sadder, cry and then go to sleep and wake up feeling a whole lot better because people like Noah and Alli allows me to believe in a love so real i can almost feel it coming out the pages at me. Which girl doesnt dream about finding love like that.

CRIME AND PUNISHMENT- Fyodor Dostoyevsky

crime and punishment

Sure this is a bit heavy. A whole lot heavy and that is the exact reason why I keep re-reading this book. It seems every time I read it I discovered something new. Some hidden understanding that i didn’t caught that last time.

A TIME TO KILL- John Grisham

John-Grisham-A-Time-To-Kill

This was the first John Grisham book I’ve ever read and the first novel he ever penned. This book is amazing and brings you face to face with racisim in the south in America. Its one of the first book I’ve read where my sympathy was for the killer and where I had problems discerning who the real villain of the story was.

MASTER OF THE GAME- Sidney Sheldon

Master_Of_The_Game

This will forever be my favourite Sidney Sheldon Novel and no matter how many times I read it I will still think of Kate as the biggest Boss Bitch eva!!

About The Roving Reader ShenekaRushell

I'm that person who read with a flashlight when the light goes out at 2 in the morning when I'm reading a book that I absolutely cannot put down. I arrive at the destination long before I ever leave the plane.
This entry was posted in Literature, MUSINGS, NaBloPoMo 2013, Quotes, Series and Trilogies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

