Love Triangle- Three sides to the story- Brenda Barrett

love triangle

This was my first Jamaican novella of this nature. Based in Mandeville, (The capital Parish of Manchester) the protagonists trapped himself between two women, his wife and sweetheart and only after the fact did he realize that he indeed love his wife and cannot imagine what his life would be without her. This was an easy read from start to finish with a very shallow plot that I thought had infinitely more potential.

SYNOPSIS

George, a minister in church, only intention was to have a fling with the sweet sexy girl in his office without of course his wife finding out. Never could he have imagine something that started out so simple as a ride home, would’ve turned into something so life changing. Karen thought George was so handsome and different from all the men she has dated or seen out there, only problem was George was married, but when did that ever stop anyone. Karen is fooled into what every side-chick believe, ‘he will leave her for me and marry me’. this line of thinking was what complicate matters for Karen in ways that she did not bargain for.  Then there is Marie, the  wife.  Marie who one day while standing at the bus stop in the rain suddenly figured out that her husband of umpteenth years was cheating on her. Three lives are uprooted and affected in a tremendous way by one man’s infidelity.

As the Title suggest, Barrett allows all three characters to tell their side of the story. the reader is able to form their own opinion of the characters and see why the made the decisions in a very difficult situation. One cant help but sympathize with George in some instances even if he is a lying cheating, adulterous SOB.  At the end of the Novel I was asking myself, If I was Marie or Karen, would I have handled this in the same way? I don’t know, maybe in my case. somebody would have to die, and it wouldn’t be me

Read this book on a long journey, maybe a road trip or on one of those lazy Sundays. It’s a novella, so its short enough to take you through the long journey or pass the Sunday morning pleasantly.

RATINGS: 6/10

About The Roving Reader ShenekaRushell

I'm that person who read with a flashlight when the light goes out at 2 in the morning when I'm reading a book that I absolutely cannot put down. I arrive at the destination long before I ever leave the plane.
This entry was posted in Caribbean Authors, Jamaican Authors, NaBloPoMo 2013, REVIEWS and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

