An Oscar Wilde Sunday

The Picture of Dorian Gray was the only novel published by the author

Those who find ugly meanings in beautiful things are corrupt without being charming. This is a fault

Those who find beautiful meanings in beautiful things are the cultivated. For these there is hope.
They are the elect to whom beautiful things mean only Beauty.

 There is only one thing in the world worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about.

I make a great difference between people. I choose my friends for their good looks, my acquaintances for their good characters, and my enemies for their good intellects. A man cannot be too careful in the choice of his enemies. I have not got one who is a fool. They are all men of some intellectual power, and consequently they all appreciate me.

To get back my youth I would do anything in the world, except take exercise, get up early, or be respectable.

Moderation is a fatal thing. Enough is as bad as a meal. More than enough is as good as a feast.

The Ballad of Reading Gaol.

And alien tears will fill for him
Pity’s long-broken urn,
For his mourners will be outcast men,
And outcasts always mourn.

About The Roving Reader ShenekaRushell

I'm that person who read with a flashlight when the light goes out at 2 in the morning when I'm reading a book that I absolutely cannot put down. I arrive at the destination long before I ever leave the plane.
This entry was posted in Literature, MUSINGS, Quotes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

