The Whore and the Virgin Review- Ceet

the whore and the virgin

I came across this descriptive, gritty urban novel on Goodreads when the author contacted me asking if I would like a copy of any of his novels and I in turn would give him my honest opinion of what I think about it.  A friend of mine upon telling him what I was reading commented that the author is brave to have titled the book so strongly. I agreed and is yet to find out the reasoning behind the title. The book is a very fast read, It took me less than a day to complete it.  I was entertained from the first sentence to the very last page.

SYNOPSIS

Picture a sheltered fourteen year old girl living in an ‘uptown’ area of California. Picture that same girl life being upset by her yuppie parents divorce and being forced to spend her summer in the deep ghettos of Philadelphia for a summer and you have the basic plot.  The shock of the divorce is still fresh on her very young mind and the culture shock from this environment is bound to present some difficulties. Throw into the mix her very raunchy worldly 16-year-old cousin with a much older boyfriend and her friends who’s always hanging on the block  doing all adult things and this 14-year-old life will change in a summer, forever.

Deserve a fair chance

I enjoyed this book from beginning to end. The authors’ vivid description of the environment and events place the reader fully in the story and you are left with the feeling that you know the characters personally.  Ceet effectively explore the Theme of Family and Family relation, teenage rebellion and coming of age in the ghetto. This book is by no means a gritty, gangster showcase of drugs and gangs in the streets it does however highlight the role of young women in these societies and how their fate are decided even from the moment they were born.

‘its like, a girl like me, all I have is this neighborhood, and all I’m ever gone have is this neighborhood. you  gone go to college and become something and do something good with your life, but all I’m ever gone do is what I’m doing now, and I’m okay with that’…  Yo Yo to Melanie after the incident.

I like the author style of writing, he allows the protagonist to immerse herself in her surrounding and see others behavior in a such a way that you do not feel as if you are missing anything in the moment.  The only problem I had throughout the novel was when Ceet decided to give Yo Yo a perspective. I was thrown off since the entire book up to that point was being narrated from Melanie’s POV.

A great afternoon read.

RATINGS. 7.5/10

For more of his novel and part 2 of The Whore and Virgin check out Ceet on Goodreads at Ceet the author.

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17930630-the-whore-and-the-virgin?from_search=true

About The Roving Reader ShenekaRushell

I'm that person who read with a flashlight when the light goes out at 2 in the morning when I'm reading a book that I absolutely cannot put down. I arrive at the destination long before I ever leave the plane.
This entry was posted in New Releases, Pre Teen and Young Adults, REVIEWS and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

