Where oh where is Prince Charming

Prince Charming (TV film)

Prince Charming (TV film) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The birth and naming of a new prince  (Prince George of Cambridge) had me to thinking about that elusive character that young girls grew up thinking about. You know the one that will ride in on his great white stallion and slay the dragon and rescue you from your tower of imprisonment after which you will ride off in the sunset and live happily ever after.  Yup, I’m talking about no other than his Royal highness, Prince Charming.  Prince charming according to the dictionary (yes, I looked it up)  is a man who seems to her to be a perfect lover or boyfriend, because he is good-looking, kind, and considerate and rich.

Outside of Fairy tales, does anyone have a friend who anything even closely resemble this ever happens to? No? me either.

My Prince Charming

Like most girls, I grew up reading about a lot of happily ever after. My take on Prince Charming is not the one described in any of those fairy tales. I don’t expect my Prince charming to rescue me from any castle or dungeon (who lives in those places anyway) I expect him to inspire me so much so that I would want to rescue myself from anything that is imprisoning me, be my thoughts, my emotions, whatever.  My Prince Charming respects me, is always honest and thinks I’m the most beautiful person . This by his love he will prove to me every day that we are together. A long shot but yea, I like what I like.

Rescue me! Girl please, Rescue yourself

My dear friend was lamenting to me recently (like she often does) about how long she has waited for her Prince Charming and why hasn’t he arrive yet.  Short of chuckling, which I did anyways, I set about to explain to her how this will unlikely be happening but stranger things have happened and nothing is impossible.

The sad fact of the matter is, some women are still out there waiting to be swept off their feet and carried off into the Caribbean sunset (preferably on the honeymoon).  Why can’t he be like that guy from Cinderella or Beauty and the Beast, they lament.  Well, for one, that’s all make-believe, something someone hatch up to make people (mostly themselves) feel better and secondly, ain’t no man got time for all that shit.  If you’re going from the urban definition I would say that he only exists in very little circumstances.  You meet someone, he fits the description and you guys are having the time of your life only to find out he’s also having the time of his life with other people as well.  The prince charming I’m most familiar with are usually the ones trying to fit my glass slipper on the usually uglier, sometimes interesting, easier damsels in distress.  Even after I was the owner of the slipper (or thought I was) for a prolonged period.

The real question should be, how many frogs will we have to kiss before the real Prince appear?

English: Prince Harry at a 2009 charity match ...

Lets put things into perspective though.   A number of Real eligible princes are still available around the world, and in this era I would say charming can be cancelled out by being filthy rich and super handsome.  That being said I really  don’t think these princes are very keen on rescuing anyone.  Between polo, skiing, real rescue missions in the war where will they ever find the time to come rescue you from your dull life.  Kate and Diana did it, why not you? Miracles are possible but I must say, it’s a very long shot.

Where is Prince Charming you ask?  In your head, where he will remain.

About The Roving Reader ShenekaRushell

I'm that person who read with a flashlight when the light goes out at 2 in the morning when I'm reading a book that I absolutely cannot put down. I arrive at the destination long before I ever leave the plane.
This entry was posted in MUSINGS and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

