Mockingjay (Final book in the Hunger Games trilogy)- Suzanne Collins

mockingjay

 

The ending of this book seriously pissed me off.  Matter a fact, most of this book pissed me off. For one, the protagonist spend the better part of the book in a daze and the beloved Peeta, a former shell of himself.  This book is by far the most shocking in the series with unexpected events and plot twist that will have you doubling back to see if that really happened.

SYNOPSIS

The 74th and 75th (The Quarter Quell) Hunger Games are over.  Rebellions are rampant in all districts and Katniss Everdeen continues to be the symbol of strength and hope which fuels that rebellion, this time willingly.  A new leader emerges and the rebellion becomes an organised warfare heading for the Capitol with a dazed Katniss, a determined Gale and a very deranged Peeta at the forefront. Not to give too much away, like all wars, there will be a winner and a loser, and because this is not a tragedy you can only guess who the winner will be.

Katniss is no longer the unwilling Mockingjay symbol for the rebellion, it is a role that she now agrees to play, to become a symbol of the rebellion against the tyrannical Capitol.

To become the Mockingjay… could any good I do possibly outweigh the damage? […] I swear, now that my family and Gale’s are out of harm’s way, I could run away. Except for one unfinished piece of business. Peeta. If I knew for sure that he was dead, I could just disappear into the woods and never look back. But until I do, I’m stuck.

She is more petrified to be the Mockingjay and to take on this huge responsibility than anything else.  She recognise that it is something she will have to put aside for the benefit of everyone. This rebellion affects everyone.

 

 

MOTIF

 

Mockingjay pin

The story is still being told from her point of view (POV) which frustrates me for most of the novel since, when she wasn’t in a haze, she was depressed to the point of madness. In this installment Collins continues on the themes of good versus evil, democracy vs Autocracy, oppression, the effects of war and the audacity of Hope.

For someone who loves a happy ending, I feel Collins was very cruel to her characters on one hand however I do understand the motive from a realist perspective. In every war there is collateral damage, why should this one be exempt.

This whole thing started because of love. Katniss love for her sister Prim. Katniss volunteering to take Prim’s place at the 74th Hunger Games might be the greatest display of love in the entire trilogy.

#TeamGale or #TeamPeeta

Gale, who I have never seen cry, has tears in his eyes. To keep them from spilling over, I reach forward and press my lips against his. We taste of heat, ashes, and misery. It’s a surprising flavor for such a gentle kiss. He pulls away first and gives me a wry smile. “I knew you’d kiss me.”
“How?” I say. Because I didn’t know myself.
“Because I’m in pain,” he says. “That’s the only way I get your attention.” He picks up the box. “Don’t worry, Katniss. It’ll pass.”

In her state of deep confusion, Katniss is even more uncertain of who she really loves and wants to be with. Everyone around her can see how she feels about Peeta except Katniss.  No matter what, Katniss and Peeta are a Team.  She feels some type of obligation to Gale and think she should love him out of kinship and loyalty

[…] the Capitol has not killed or even punished him [Peeta]. For right now, that exceeds my wildest hopes. I drink in his wholeness, the soundness of his body and mind. It runs through me like the morphling they give me in the hospital, dulling the pain of the last weeks.

The Hunger Games remains my favourite in the Trilogy. This will keep you turning the pages because the bulk of the good stuff happens at the end. The epilogue I believe we could have all live without.

 

Goo See Mockinjay in Theatres now!  only part 1 though, cause you know, Hollywood loves to stretch things out to achieve more buck for the bang 

 

katniss-hunger-games

 

 

RATINGS: 7/10

About The Roving Reader ShenekaRushell

I'm that person who read with a flashlight when the light goes out at 2 in the morning when I'm reading a book that I absolutely cannot put down. I arrive at the destination long before I ever leave the plane.
This entry was posted in Books to films, Pre Teen and Young Adults, REVIEWS, Series and Trilogies, The Hunger Games Trilogy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

