A Feast For Crows (A Song of Ice and Fire Book #4) George RR Martin

A Feast for Crows

A Feast for Crows (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This is my least favourite book of all the series. If A Storm of Swords was quick and juicy this one is a slow  unfamiliar snoozefest.  Martin went ahead and skip out on many of the Characters that we have grown used to in the other installments. Before I started reading, I literally skimmed through the entire book just to see if my beloved Dany would be mentioned. Needless to say, I was very disappointed when I could not find her anywhere. I also missed Tyrion and his clever tongue. The little I get about what’s happening on the wall from Sam is not half as filling as I would hope .

Book 4 is told from the POV of 12 Characters and one minor character who revealed something that I was mystified about in the prologue until about nearly to the end of the book when I finally had an aha moment.

  1. prologue A minor character in Gulltown
  2. Cersei Lannister
  3. Jaime Lannister
  4. Brienne
  5. sansa Stark
  6. Arya Stark
  7. Samwell Tarly
  8. Aeron ‘Damphair’ Greyjoy
  9. Asha Greyjoy
  10. Victarion greyjoy
  11. Areo Hotah
  12. Arys Oakheart
  13. Arienne Martell

I will not lie, this was a hard book to read and to complete. Reading it I kept thinking, when do we get to the good part.

SYNOPSIS

Left up to her own devices now that she is practically the ruler, Cersei did nothing but tighten that noose around her neck with all that rope she was given.  Reading, I couldn’t help thinking how right Tywin Lannister had been all along about her being weak.

I don’t distrust you because you are a woman, I distrust you because you’re not as smart as you think you are.

She becomes increasingly distrustful of everyone and in a sense Paranoid that everyone is out to destroy her.  I love how Martin portrays Cersei’s phyrric victory in such a way that readers still will not want to sympathise with her. Although Martin allows us to love some of the not so good guys, at the end of this book I still hate Cersei but can appreciate that the stage has been set for her fall. Hopefully it all comes crashing down in the next installment.

I get that Martin wants us to know about those not so popular characters but really, do we have to? The Martells were made reference to in the past but it is in this book that we really get a feel of who they are.  An interesting lot and a fascinating group of women but I still resent the fact that they had to be given half the book in description of their history and what not. The same goes for the Greyjoys. I like Asha Greyjoy, she has guts and is a warrior, her uncles on the other hand left much to be desired. All Crabs in a barrel as they try to upstart each other in the quest to be the next ruler of the Iron Isles after Balon Greyjoy drop dead. Suspiciously.

In part, Arya and Sansa Stark chapters are the most interesting to read, yes, I did say Sansa. Arya continues to survive on her own, taking on new identities and trying to forget about ever being that little Stark girl. Meanwhile Sansa is flourishing and getting on quite nicely. We are able to see her true character unlike the one she was forced to become when she was in Kings Landing under Cersei’s constant watch.

Jaime had grown on me since Book 3 and now, I can truly say he is redeemed in my eyes. Brienne of Tarth chapters also is a great deal of words with nothing much happening. Reading her chapters I kept thinking, why is this important to the story? Why do we have to read this Martin?

A Feast For Crows is not a bad read. Coming from the pinnacle of excitement in Book 3 it is steady and comfortably paced.

About The Roving Reader ShenekaRushell

I'm that person who read with a flashlight when the light goes out at 2 in the morning when I'm reading a book that I absolutely cannot put down. I arrive at the destination long before I ever leave the plane.
This entry was posted in Everything Game Of Thrones (A Song) of Ice and Fire, REVIEWS, Series and Trilogies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Feast For Crows (A Song of Ice and Fire Book #4) George RR Martin

  1. AdrianVeidt says:

    I don’t really agree with you on some of the comments you’re making. I like to think that the main characters of the first books may not be the most important characters by the end of the story. I mean, both Quentin Martell and Victarion (if I’m not mistaken on the first name) Greyjoy are on their way to try and earn Danearys’ trust and hand, that could be a huge move, for either of these Houses…
    That’s what I like about ASOIAF, you never know who will end up winning, if anyone.
    I really enjoyed letting the author lead me into new families, new storylines, and then figuring out towards the end how it’s all tied up together…
    Cersei’s storyline is just amazingly thrilling, and I don’t really feel the need to “have mixed feelings about her”, like you can have for Jaime, or some others half good half evil characters. She’s grown up in a family that only values power, at any cost, was forcefully married to a drunk who never loved her… why would she not be a monster? I just love how she works her power to the fullest of her potential and finally ends up going (maybe) too far. She could be the hero of a Scorcese movie, almost…
    I just started A Dance with Dragons yesterday and am so excited. I just don’t want a social life anymore…

    • Hi Adrian,

      Thanks for visiting my Blog. A Dance with Dragons is my second fave book in the series mostly because of the Dragon. I can almost guarantee that you will be enjoying this installment since you love how all characters come to play an important role. eventually. Enjoy and let me in on your thoughts on my blog post of said installment.

Leave a Reply

